Musings / Stills

The onset of a season

IMG_5159

The first fall of snow is not only an event, it is a magical event. You go to bed in one kind of a world and wake up in another quite different, and if this is not enchantment then where is it to be found? – J. B. Priestley

To be honest, the above sentiment is not exactly how I felt when I woke up yesterday and saw snow out my window. It felt too soon – a beautiful autumn had just graced our northern state, and I wasn’t ready to trade in warm shades of orange and brown for stark, omnipresent white. I honestly felt defeated.

But as the day went on, I realized the first fall of snow was a magical event, in a different way.

~

IMG_5177IMG_5174~

I’ve found that the beginning of a season ushers in a flood of memories and feelings from seasons of years past. There are always triggers that set it off. For spring, it’s rays of sunshine that melt the snow into rivulets bound for gutters, accompanied by the chirping of birds. For summer, it’s the first truly hot day that makes you crave ice cream cones and swimming pools, and bonfires after dusk. For autumn, it’s that distinct chill in the air as trees start slyly dropping their leaves. And for winter, it’s the first snow.

I find that during this onset of a season, memories flash across my mind as I go about my day. Like when I pull up the blinds and soft light, diffused by white skies, fills the room, or when I pass by a window and see a blanket of white draped over lawns and housetops, or when I step outside and the chill air turns my breath into a tiny cloud.

~

IMG_5145

IMG_5146

~

I know I’m a nostalgic person in general who tends to romanticize things, but perhaps I’ve felt so deeply about the start of this autumn, and now this winter, because these are the inaugural seasons in a very new and different period of my life. I’m not in school anymore, or in college. I’m not drowning in homework or extracurricular activities. And I’m currently at my parents’ house all the time – not just during breaks.

Perhaps this is why yesterday, the combination of my parents’ house and snow brought the feeling of Christmas – the only time I experienced these two things together in the last four winters.

Today, it brought the feeling of winter break, and along with it, an involuntary loss of motivation.

~

IMG_5149IMG_5155

~

The start of this winter is proving to be an exercise in rewiring my brain, covering old memories with new ones, or perhaps just adding to the memory bank.

I’m sure more snow-related things will continue setting me off – driving, walking through the city, sitting in a coffee shop. So I’ll embrace the ghosts of winters past, and then I’ll continue going about my day, living a new life.

~

IMG_5160

2 thoughts on “The onset of a season

  1. Красивые фото. Романтично, грустно и настолько проникновенно и созвучно мне… В этот момент я видела твоими глазами.

Leave a Reply

